Let Me Not…

blonde antithesisLet Me Not

Let me not be distracted by the common things
The little things that catch my eye and cause me to give a moment’s pause
Let me not linger too long in dismay over the evidences of my journey
The tell-tale signs of my struggles written on my face in deeper lines and creases

Let me not agonize over the fading of youth and beauty
But only ask what You see in the creases and the lines
Let me not gather the ashes of my yesterdays
In wishing for things discarded by Your hand

lonely beach - blonde antithesis

Let me not collect my scars like keepsakes held in pretty jars
To be admired and cherished for my own sake
Let me not be distracted by the common things
Let me not linger, agonize, gather, collect…

Unless it is to:
Linger at Your feet
Agonize over another’s soul
Gather the evidences of Your grace
Collect the memories of Your blessings

on the pier - blonde antithesis
In these I will glory and dwell
And from them, let me never wander too far. -A.L.B.

4 thoughts on “Let Me Not…

Leave a Reply

