Don't Walk By

I’ve been thinking today about areas that I can become involved in – in the community, to effect a change in peoples lives.

God has been convicting me in this area a lot lately. So, I have been researching organizations to personally invest in, as well as bringing together others who are like-minded in their desire to do more…

So, tonight I began reading some statistics about things like homelessness and domestic violence – just in the central Florida area, to start. Some things…no, all of what I read broke my heart and challenged me.

Things like:

*Domestic violence is the leading cause of injury to women between the ages of 14 and 44 in the United States.

*On average, more than three women are murdered by their husband or boyfriend, in the United States, every day.

*In 2000, a woman in America was in greater danger of being physically harmed or killed by her partner/former partner than by a stranger or acquaintance.

*The home remains the most dangerous place in the world for the American woman.

*There are nearly three times as many animal shelters in the U.S. as there are shelters for battered women and their children.

For more information or to find out ways to help, go to the Harbor House website here.

The plight of the homeless in Florida is just as chilling. For more on how to help the homeless, go to The Coalition for the Homeless website here.

I will be researching and discussing proactive plans for helping meet needs in the Central Florida area and beyond, in the coming months.

Until then, if you see a need, lend a hand…

Don’t walk by!

“What does love look like? It has the hands to help others. It has the feet to hasten to the poor and needy. It has eyes to see misery and want. It has the ears to hear the sighs and sorrows of men. That is what love looks like.”Saint Augustine

Peace.

5 thoughts on “Don't Walk By

  1. When I left a comment for you the other day these were the exact issues I had felt strongly about. I actually have an idea and was going to share it with you anyway. I’ll be calling you when I have a minute. I got home at 11:00 from work tonight so I knew that I’d have to wait to tell you but I think we can really connect with women in our community in loving and creative ways. Thank you for your blog. You, chica, are a kindred spirit!

  2. I Have connections at Harbor House if you wanna get connected there.
    I used to work with them in my old job:)

    I’m proud of you.
    I love you

  3. Thanks, y’all. I look forward to getting with both of you and picking your brains for ideas – that really is a horrible expression – but you know what I mean. 🙂
    Thanks for commenting. Love you both. Peace.

  4. Jim, Natalie and I just got back from the funeral for Mike Ruschak.
    He and Tiffany Barwick were
    shot by Tiffanys ex-boyfriend. Mike was just a friend trying to help Tiff out of an abusive relationship. He was a wonderful man. The pastor that did the service likened him to the Archangel Michael because that’s how Mike lived his life, standing for what was right and good. His mother, father and sister will miss him…forever.

  5. Colleen, This was truly a tragedy. I hope some laws will be changed now to protect people from stalkers like this. Thanks for updating us. Peace. Angie

Leave a Reply

