Melodies of Mercy

God has been merciful to me today.

I woke up feeling sad, and then kind of settled in to a kind of daze. Made a trip to Wal-Mart, and it seemed like everyone was moving in slow-motion. Maybe it was just me, but it seemed like we were all walking around in a fog.

Then, coming home, I turned right in front of an oncoming truck. He swerved and honked…and missed me. I never even saw him coming.

Then, I heard a song on my iPod – I had heard it several times before – but, today it spoke to my on some kind of inner level. I just kept pushing the back arrow and listening…again and again. It reminded me of how I wanted to think, to be, to live…It spoke through the fog, and pulled me back. I simply sounded like mercy to me.

I wish I had written this song. It could’ve come from me – from my soul. It takes everything back down to the only thing worth living for: the cross. Here it is:

Lead Me to the Cross – Hillsong United

“Savior I come. Quiet my soul. Remember
Redemption’s hill – Where Your blood was spilled – for my ransom.
Everything I once held dear… I count it all as lost.

Lead me to the cross
Where Your love poured out
Bring me to my knees
Lord I lay me down.
Rid me of myself
I belong to You.
Lead me…lead me to the cross! To your heart – to your heart…Lead me to your heart

So, I thank God for His mercy toward me today…and always.

And because of His mercy, I was able to go to band practice tonight and sing with passion: “Our God is mighty to save!” And I thank Him for doing just that.

Peace…and mercy to you all.

Leave a Reply

